The memorial complex is in harmony with the existing layout and symmetry of the majestic Rajpath and Central Vista. Solemnity of the ambience is maintained with an emphasis on landscaping and the simplicity of architecture. Apart from the main memorial, there is dedicated area for busts of soldiers who have been conferred with ‘Param Vir Chakra,’ the nation’s highest gallantry award. The design of the main memorial exemplifies that supreme sacrifice made by a soldier in the line of duty not only makes him immortal but also depicts that the spirit of a soldier remains eternal. The memorial has distinct scheme of concentric circles:

1.   'Amar Chakra' :Circle of Immortality. This has an Obelisk with Eternal Flame. The flame symbolises the immortality of the spirit of fallen soldiers with the assurance that the Nation will never forget their sacrifices.

2.   'Veerta Chakra' : Circle of Bravery. A covered gallery that exhibits six murals crafted in bronze depicting valiant battle actions of our Armed Forces.

3.   'Tyag Chakra' : Circle of Sacrifice. The circular concentric walls of honour, which symbolise the ancient war formation ‘Chakravyuh’. The walls are clad with granite tablets where an independent granite tablet is dedicated to each soldier who has made the supreme sacrifice where his name is etched in golden letters.

4.   'Rakshak Chakra' : Circle of Protection. The row of trees in the Rakshak Chakra is a reassurance to the citizens of the country about their safety against any threat, with each tree representing the soldiers who ensure the territorial integrity of the Nation, round the clock. 

we2/Obelisk and Amar Chakra/0015.JPG?galleryPage=2&article_id=7
Amar Chakra 


we2/Aerial View from India Gate/PICTURES NWM14.jpg?galleryPage=2&article_id=7
Aerial View 




we2/Tyag Chakra/0031.JPG?galleryPage=2&article_id=7
Tyag Chakra 


Rakshak Chakra